What Certifications Fall Under GFSI?

Saro Loucks
Saro Loucks

Last updated: January 24, 2024

Global Food Safety Initiative (GFSI) Overview

The Global Food Safety Initiative (GFSI) is a private organization that oversees and recognizes various food safety standards. Certifications that fall under GFSI are recognized globally and are often considered benchmarks for best practices in food safety. 

Certifications That Fall Under GFSI?

  1. SQF (Safe Quality Food) Program: The SQF Program is a rigorous and credible food safety and quality program that is recognized by retailers, brand owners, and food service providers worldwide. It includes different levels of certification, depending on the stage in the supply chain. Need help preparing for SQF?  FoodReady has SQF Consultants to get the job done. 
  2. BRC Global Standard for Food Safety (BRCGS): This standard is used by food manufacturers to help ensure their products are safe, legal, and of high quality. It covers areas like food safety management, site standards, product control, and process control.
  3. FSSC 22000 (Food Safety System Certification 22000): FSSC 22000 is a comprehensive certification scheme for food safety management systems based on existing ISO Standards. It’s recognized by GFSI and is used worldwide by food manufacturers.
  4. IFS Food (International Featured Standards): This standard is primarily used to audit food manufacturers regarding food safety and quality of processes and products. It emphasizes the importance of senior management responsibility, accurate product labeling, and risk analysis.
  5. GlobalG.A.P.: Primarily focused on good agricultural practices, GlobalG.A.P. is a pre-farm gate standard that covers the process of the growing operations from before the plant is in the ground. It includes food safety and sustainability measures.
  6. PrimusGFS: This is a Global Food Safety Initiative (GFSI) benchmarked and fully recognized audit scheme covering Good Agricultural Practices (GAP), Good Manufacturing Practices (GMP), and Hazard Analysis Critical Control Points (HACCP).

It’s important to note that these certifications are subject to periodic updates and revisions to align with emerging food safety issues and technological advancements. Companies seeking certification under these standards must undergo rigorous audits and assessments by accredited third-party certification bodies.

Are you getting ready for a GFSI-type audit? FoodReady has GFSI consultants to do the work for you. 

In this article

Saro Loucks

Saro Loucks

HACCP Certified, food safety enthusiast.

Try it out today!

Give the FoodReady platform a try for free for 14 days.

Related Blogs

transparent line icon
Why FoodReady Food Safety Software is Necessary for FSMA rule 204

I wrote an earlier article about FDA FSMA rule 204 which is all about FOOD TRACEABILITY. And here I am again telling you why FoodReady’s food safety software is what

In our modern world, where the convenience and abundance of diverse food choices often overshadow underlying health concerns, the threat of parasites in food industry is a critical issue that

When the food is infected, it's likely due to salmonella, which causes about 1 million cases annually